Waikato DHB

Below you can see what progress the DHB has made in supporting Safer Hours (or lack thereof); how many rosters need to change and the number of resident doctors affected.


Total resident doctors employed – 383

Total resident doctors working on assessed rosters – 163

• Total rosters affected– 14
• Number not fixed at all – 9

  • Rosters partially fixed (in these departments) – 5
    • O&G
    • Surgical Sub-specialties
    • Paediatrics (Registrars)
    • Anaesthetics
  • Rosters not fixed at all – 9
    • Orthopaedics
    • General Surgical
    • Paediatrics (House Officers)
    • General Medical
    • Medical Sub-specialties
    • Cardiology
    • Anaesthetics

Resident doctors required for safer rosters – 10


Email your DHBs CEO, Minister of Health, Associate Minister of Health and your local MPs asking them to move towards Safer Hours.

Minister of Health: Jonathan Coleman – Jonathan.Coleman@parliament.govt.nz

Associate Minister of Health: Sam Lotu-Iiga – peseta.sam.lotu-iiga@parliament.govt.nz

DHB CEO: Dr Nigel Murray – Nigel.Murray@waikatodhb.health.nz


Coromandel: Scott Simpson – Scott.Simpson@parliament.govt.nz

Hamilton East: David Bennett – David.Bennett@parliament.govt.nz

Hamilton West: Tim Macindoe – Tim.Macindoe@parliament.govt.nz

Taranaki-King Country: Barbara Kuriger – Barbara.Kuriger@parliament.govt.nz
Waikato: Lindsay Tisch – lindsay.tisch@parliament.govt.nz

Hauraki Waikato: Nanaia Mahuta – Nanaia.Mahuta@parliament.govt.nz